How to Get Travel Documents to Taiwan

Taiwan or Republic of China (ROC) is recognized as a state by only a handful of countries, mostly by small Pacific states (the Philippines do not). That does not mean that you cannot get travel documents to travel into the country, even if they don't have an official embassy or diplomatic relations with one's country. 

Travel Authorization Certificate
For Southeast Asians, those holding Philippine passports, as well as citizens of Thailand, Indonesia, Vietnam, plus India), there are two ways to get travel documents to Taiwan. The first option is the Travel Authorization Certificate, which is part of the visa exemption program. In lieu of a tourist visa, certain travelers may get the certificate online. The requirement is that the traveler has never been employed as a blue collar worker in Taiwan and holds a valid entry visa or residence certificate issued by the United States, Japan, Canada, UK, Schengen countries, Australia and New Zealand.The passport should also be valid for at least 6 months.

Travel authorization

The certificate, which is good for 30 days of travel, is processed online. You need to go here and input information, including your dates of travel, and your visa and passport numbers. A PDF copy of the certificate will be generated that  you can download. Print a copy that you will show to the immigration officer.  

Tourist visas can be secured from overseas missions of the ROC. Requirements include valid passport, application form and two 2x2 photos, outbound airline or ship ticket, and other supporting documents. Visas are valid for 14, 30, 60 or 90 days of stay, and will expire in 3 months to one year. The application fee for a single entry visa is NT$1600 or USD50, NT$3200 for multiple entry. A guarantor in ROC may be required in the application, as well as an interview, depending on the case. 

You can fill out an application here, Print a copy for submission to  the ROC mission. 

Visa application workflow

Visa-exempt countries
Citizens from the following countries do not need a visa to enter Taiwan for up to 90 days: Andorra, Australia (Effective from January 1, 2015 for one year) , Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria,  Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, U.K., U.S.A. and Vatican City State.
Citizens from Malaysia and Singapore are also eligible for the visa exemption program, which permits a duration of stay up to 30 days.


Popular posts from this blog

Golden Tara of Agusan

Off the Beaten Track: Mapun, Tawi-Tawi

National Museum of the Philippines